Skills

I got skills, and unfortunately they’re not multiplying.  I’m job hunting at the moment.  Have been for a while.  I started out looking for something in research.  It’s what I trained in, it’s what I’m good at and it’s what I enjoy.  Unfortunately the opportunities for scientists who didn’t quite manage the PhD in the end are few and far between.  I don’t even think it’s the not having the degree either.  If I’d looked for a job straight after getting my Masters I don’t think I would have had the same problem.  But those four years are currently a black hole in my employment history, and explaining it away is difficult because it means talking about depression, and that comes with its own stigmas.

The only solution I can see is to get something, anything, to tide me over and fill up my CV until that four year gap becomes less of a problem.  Plus it will help me pay for those pesky things like rent and food.  I don’t have a problem with getting something temporary, or unrelated to mu current skills.  I would welcome it.  I just wish I’d chosen to start with that rather than setting myself up for the many rejections (or worse, non-responses) in the process.

I can write, too.  Part of the reason I started this blog was to help keep me sane while I was looking for something.  But I have experience with scientific writing too as well as fiction writing, which I’ve been doing since I was young.  I could certainly turn that towards a job if i could find one.  Writing for a scientific journal would perhaps be a good middle ground, although I would miss the lab work.  I did apply for a writing internship on a whim a couple of months ago but that was one of my may rejections.

Why am I writing this?  Partly today’s Blogging 101 task about writing to your ideal reader, who I guess is a prospective employer right now, mixed with the I Got Skills daily prompt.  I also think my ideal reader includes myself – this post is an attempt at self-motivation as I endeavour in the next few days to step up my search for a job.  It represents a start point, a way to measure my progress towards that employment goal in the next couple of weeks.  This isn’t like the resolutions of my other posts recently.  It’s far more important than that and it needs to succeed, sooner rather than later.  I’m serving notice on my unemployment.

5 thoughts on “Skills

  1. Hi there! What type of scientist? Don’t get let the rejection letters get you down,
    I had SOOOO many, but it’s a huge bucket of people that they get to choose from, it will happen for you! Best of luck 😀

Leave a Reply

