Writing 201: Trust

Trusting others can be hard, when depression rears its head,

Rather trust is often marred, by words imagined, never said,

Understanding goes downhill, replaced with worry and fear,

Sunders empathy, goodwill, leaves nothing but a veneer,

Too often slights exaggerate, innocuous thoughts transformed,

Into dark ones full of weight, to fester, leave you misinformed,

Now these thoughts can pass I guess, and trust regained that was lost,

Go back and make some redress, but trusting now has a cost.

The third poetry prompt is trust, the from acrostic, and the device internal rhyme.  I’m not sure how I feel about the result.  I was able to meet the criteria, that wasn’t a problem, but I’m not sure if I was able to get across what I was hoping for form the verse.  This is a definite candidate for revisiting after a few weeks.  That said, I don’t think it’s bad.  Just a little off target.

This is likely the last piece of poetry for today, but I’ll be back tomorrow to finish catching up with the assignments.

Leave a Reply

